All Things Are Become New

Happy New Year, everyone.  We have reached the beginning of another new year.  On New Year’s Eve, children stayed up till midnight.  College students set off fireworks.  And I did neither.  After riding in the car for 12 hours, I was not interested in staying up till midnight to see if the world would end as soon as the clock read “2012.”  Although I unceremoniously fell asleep by 10 o’clock, the significance of the new year was not lost on me when I awoke this morning.  It’s a new year.

The word “new” used to bother me.  I liked old things and phrases like “new year” seemed overrated to me.  After all, it was just another day.  No different than the day before it.  But now the word “new” denotes hope to me.  Granted, generally I still like old books and old movies better than new books and new movies.  But new actions, new opportunities, new experiences inspire excitement.  Perhaps the greatest reason I now love the word “new” is found in II Corinthians 5:17–“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature:  old things are passed away; behold all things are become new.”  There are plenty of old behaviors, old words, old attitudes, old actions that strangle me.  Instead of living in the freedom Christ provides, I act like there is no hope.  But Christ has given hope through His work on Calvary–not only deliverance from hell in the future, but also from sin’s control in the present.  Christ came for the express purpose of giving us freedom.  “I am come that they might have life”–John 10:10.  “To this end was I born, and for this cause came I into the world, that I should bear witness unto the truth,” Jesus says of Himself in John 18:37.  “No guilt in life, no fear in death/This is the power of Christ in me” says the song “In Christ Alone” by Stuart Townsend and Keith Getty.  This is the outlook on life of a new creature.  So instead of thinking of January 1st as just another day, look at the New Year as an opportunity to re-focus on living as a new creature in Christ.

“Complete in Thee! No more shall sin,

Thy grace hath conquered, reign within!

Thy voice shall bid the tempter flee,

And I shall stand complete in Thee.

Yea, justified!  O blessed thought!

And sanctified!  Salvation wrought!

Thy blood hath pardon bought for me,

And glorified I too shall be!”

from Complete in Thee by Aaron Wolfe and James Gray, http://www.hymnal.net/hymn.php/h/328

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Gill
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 05:01:29

    You & your Daddy have been very inspiring to me today:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

