A Song for Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day.  🙂  Hope all my readers are having a pleasant Tuesday/Singles Awareness/Valentine’s Day.  As I pondered what to write about, I turned on Grooveshark and started listening to whatever songs struck my fancy.  My playlists are normally a mish-mosh of Josh Groban, movie soundtracks, broadway musicals, Hayley Westenra, and hymns, depending on what I’m doing.   I listen to hymns for pretty much any activity–writing letters, doing homework, reading my Bible.  Movie soundtracks are normally the accompaniment for homework while Josh Groban and Hayley Westenra sing along with my computer work (i.e. checking e-mail, facebooking, paper-writing…blogging).   And Broadway musicals energize my exercise time or invigorate me while I work on different projects.

It never ceases to amaze me how music affects us.  Music has the power to stir our emotions, to entertain us, to provoke us to thought, and to engage our imaginations.  A poignant song that does all of these is “Nuvole Bianche” by Ludovico Einaudi.  Its whirling melody, though simple, emits a bittersweet aura–a melancholy pathos combined with a struggling wonder at something not-quite-understood.  It’s the kind of music I like to sit and think to–just letting my thoughts dance with the music.  Last time I listened to it, I thought of the verses in the Bible from Psalm 139:

“O LORD, Thou hast searched me, and known me….

Whither shall I go from Thy spirit?  Or which shall I flee from Thy presence?

If I ascend up into heaven, Thou are there:  if I make my bed in hell, behold Thou art there.

If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea;

Even there shall Thy hand lead me, and Thy right hand shall hold me.”

God’s love for me holds for me that struggling wonder.  I don’t understand, but I sit astounded in its presence.  God will never leave me nor forsake me (Hebrews 13:5 in the Bible).  And He loves me.

That’s wow.  No words suffice to describe the wonder and the power of God’s presence and God’s love.  That’s what makes Valentine’s Day great.  Not receiving red roses from a boyfriend or going on a date.  God’s abiding, eternal love is something worthy to be celebrated.  Something to be shared with friends, family, and even enemies.

So as you wind down this Valentine’s Day, think of God and His love for you.  He loves us when no one else does.

“Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins”–I John 4:10

P.S.  “propitiation” means “appeased the punishment in the place of someone else”

Leave a Reply

