It’s the Most Teeth-Grinding Time of the Year…

Yep, it’s tax time.  And the only benefit I’ve ever seen for filling out a fantasy football bracket is to practice filling out the grid on my tax sheet.  Covered in numbers that are no use to anyone, W-2s, W-4s, 1099s, 1089s, I-319s, and Y2Ks (haha) cease to mean anything to me after a while.  I recently decided to buckle down and do my taxes, taking the plunge with an online tax service that shall remain anonymous.

Things go pretty well, despite having to work on my taxes over two weeks during breaks from homework and projects.  Today, I finally reach the end–only to have an error pop up.  Well, I am human and I make errors.  So I check it out.  What puzzles me is my answer is correct…and it does show up on the form…but the service insists I pick another option.  I try to avoid the error and say it’s okay.  I make it all the way to the very, very end where I’ll submit my taxes.  And that ugly orange box with an exclamation point in it pops up again and refuses to let me submit my taxes.  I supposedly must print out my taxes and send them snail mail.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  I have nothing against snail mail.  I like snail mail.  I prefer to write letters over e-mailing or sending Facebook messages.  But the paper tax forms scare me.  I think I should be diagnosed with the official tax-form-o-phobia.  So I try to re-start that particular part of the tax return…same problem.  Again…and again…and again.  I try to sign out and that same, stupid, ugly orange box re-appears.  (I am starting to dislike the color orange).  The computer service won’t even let me sign off! Grrr.

Yes, I know patience is a virtue.

So I call the tax service.  After being on the phone for 45 minutes and speaking to 3 different representatives, the actually quite nice and adept rep on the other end says I have to print it out and do it by hand and send it snail mail.  I thank him and hang up the phone.

No, there was no wailing, phone-beating, or fist-shaking.  I end the conversation more upset with myself than the tax service.  (Even though I put the right information and the tax service just didn’t like it.)  Looking sheepishly at my computer screen, I try not to remember that I was told the solution my first time through.  Just print it out.  But did I follow directions?  Oh no, I am much too wise for directions.  Instead I waste about an hour of my life trying to force an inanimate object to cooperate.

Moral of the story:  “If at first you don’t succeed, try try again” is not always the best choice.  Happy Tax Returns!

P.S.  I really am working on a Wilfred story.  But taxes, projects, homework, Ovid’s Metamorphoses, and life in general has sapped some of my creativity.  It will be coming soon. 🙂

P.P.S.  For those of you who read my “Gotta’ Love Rainy Day Auditions,” I decided to audition for a fellow student’s short film.  The audition was two Fridays ago.  I woke up that morning…and it was raining. 😀

Leave a Reply

