Is It Interesting Yet?

I decided last semester that, for being a writing major, I am far too ignorant of literature classics.  So I determined to read some masterpieces I’ve put off in the past.  At the top of the list was Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, alias Currer Bell.

The story intrigued me since I first watched the 1944 movie adaptation with Orson Welles and Joan Fontaine.  I own a vintage copy of the book printed in the 1890s.  Hardly an original, I know, but still a nice find for $5 at a flea market.

Since I love the story, I figured reading the book would be a pleasant challenge.  But for the last two summers (maybe three) I have tried to read the original work…and failed.  Miserably.  The first summer I made it through chapter 3.  The following summer I completed one more chapter.  All in all I progressed no further than Chapter 5 of Bronte’s great masterpiece.

Therefore, when I unexpectedly finished my stack of library books before their due date, I chose to start Jane Eyre the next day.  I am now halfway through.

And it is finally interesting.

I read six masterpieces of literature in sixteen weeks last semester including works of Home, Virgil, Ovid, and Dante.  I read four books within the first two weeks of being home.  And the first 240 pages of Jane Eyre has taken me four days.

I wanted to be riveted.  Really I did.  But Jane’s depressing narrative of her oppressed childhood at Lowood drained my interest faster than water through a spaghetti strainer.

The entrance of one character changed it all–Rochester.  Rochester entered the story and the drama began.

I am currently at the part where Mason has been shot and taken away to heal at the doctor’s house.  Whether the rest of the book will be as exciting remains to be seen.

I guess it doesn’t help that I already know the ending.

Happy Summer Reading, everyone!  What’s on your reading list?

Your Curious Blogger,
Specs

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandie Russell
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 02:33:51

    i have SO many books i want to read. jane eyre is at the top, along with finishing up tuck everlasting, peter pan, little women, and anne of green gables. i also want to read sense and sensibility. 🙂 i know. . .i’m so lame. 😉

    Reply

    • Specs
      Jun 07, 2012 @ 01:59:32

      Not lame at all! Little Women is beautiful. And I enjoy both Anne of Green Gables and Sense & Sensibility. I have yet to read Tuck Everlasting or Peter Pan but have heard good things about both. Enjoy! 🙂

      Reply

  2. Specs
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 01:58:25

    I fear in my tiredness while I wrote the post above I said “Mason was shot.” Mason was not shot. I don’t know what I was writing. Mason was stabbed. Not shot. lol. Wow, I need to proofread better. Or maybe just get more sleep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

