Mystery Man on Line 1

It never ceases to amaze me that some people do not understand the words “No-Call List.” These persistent, and severely annoying, individuals somehow found our phone number.  Perhaps they scoured an old phone book.  Maybe they call every number combination they can think of with our regional area code.  Whatever their method–or their madness–“they” have our number and call us several times a week.  Normally the first to the phone, I answer any unrecognized number with, “Who’s calling?”

Occasionally, they are honest and will say what company they are with and why they are calling.  Some of them just hang up.

Earlier this week, a woman called when we were expecting an urgent call from a doctor’s office.  Her voice was bright and friendly as she asked for one of my family members.  I explained he was unavailable but that I could take a message.  “I’ll call back at a more convenient time,” she said cheerily and hung up without saying her name, number, or intent.  I assumed that she was either from the doctor’s office and couldn’t discuss confidential information…or that she was selling something.  Since she wouldn’t say who she was, I was left only with my guesses.

Several hours passed and she called again asking for the same relative.  “May I ask who’s calling?” I replied.

“I’ll call back at a more convenient time,” she replied brightly.

I startled her by nearly shouting into the phone, “But who are you?”  The cheery voice at the other end hesitated slightly and then rattled off a long company name.  And then she hung up.

Although the mystery woman on the phone could rival Effie Trinket for cheeriness, I refused to give her the information she wanted because I did not know her.  I did not trust that company because I did not know them.  It is hard to trust someone you don’t know.

Sometimes, we view God like the mystery man calling us on the phone.  We hit crises we cannot manage.  Crises where friends cannot help.  We are told to trust God.  But cynicism kicks in and we scoff as if someone just told us, “Yeah, do whatever that mystery man on the phone says.”   But God is not a telemarketer.  He does not ask us to trust Him because He needs to meet His monthly quota of good deeds.  Quite the opposite, He asks us to trust Him because we need Him.

No stranger to dark times, King David experienced betrayal, injustice, and loneliness throughout his life.  Despite his love for God, he experienced times too where he did not “feel” close to God.  In Psalm 13, he pours his heart out to God, describing his anguish and his feelings of isolation.  Then he says, “But I have trusted in Thy mercy; my heart shall rejoice in Thy salvation.  I will sing unto the LORD, because He hath deal bountifully with me.”

Why does David trust God in the dark times when he does not “feel” close to God?  Because he knows God.

David doesn’t have to guess about God’s trustworthiness.  He has hope because he knows God–knows God’s character.  And that gives David security and rest.  After David pours out his heart, he worships Him.  David had spent time getting to know God, not just information about God.  Trusting God as a best friend and as a faithful king, David was confident that God would act according to His character.  David’s knowledge of God was not academic–it was personal.

Life is not easy or predictable.  Hard times will come to test you.  Don’t push God away until He becomes nothing more than a mystery man calling from an unknown number.  God tells the prophet Isaiah, “I have not spoken in secret, in a dark place of the earth:  I said not unto the seed of Jacob, ‘Seek ye me in vain:’ I the LORD speak righteousness, I declare things that are right.” (Isaiah 45:19)  God is calling you.  He wants to help you.  He wants to know you.  You can trust God…when you know God.

Leave a Reply

