Perdoname, St. Patrick’s Day

First, let me apologize to all my readers for my tardiness in posting.  Drafts are in the works.

Second, please forgive the lacking accent above the “o” in “perdoname.”  WordPress doesn’t like to switch between Spanish words and English keyboards.

Third, all you devout pinchers had better stay away since I, the descendant of a conglomeration of Irish, German, Cherokee, Apache, French, and what-have-you, forgot it was St. Patrick’s Day and wore black.

I could say that I did it on purpose–that as an Irish descendant, I know there are political implications to wearing green versus white versus orange.  I could say that I was in mourning because the Catholic church claims St. Patrick or that I was protesting a perfectly good holiday turned into another example of American over-marketing.  I could say those things–but instead, I will just say the story of St. Patrick is remarkable and worthy of celebration and study.  I will say that St. Patrick’s Day was an excuse for my sister and I to wear green, speculate about our Irish roots, and watch Irish movies when we were growing up.  I will say that our family often regards St. Patrick’s Day more of a Celebrate-Ireland Day.  And I will say that as far as wearing green goes–I just plain forgot.

May the road rise to meet you and may the wind be ever at your back.
May the sun shine warm on your face and the rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again, may God hold you in the palm of His hand.–the Irish Blessing

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Miss Risabella Rambler
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 20:28:08

    I wore both orange and black. Call me a compromiser. Call me colorblind. Call me what you like. I’m Scottish–it’s not as big of a deal. ;0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

