A Notebook of Her Own

Creative writing classes offer all sorts of advice on establishing a successful writing process:

Establish a routine where your writing process can flow.  In order to train yourself to write consistently, write in the same place at the same time of day.  Find an object that inspires you and make it part of your writing process.

They do not address quirks.

My writing process has morphed over the years.  I used to write in Steno Pads, then moved to spiral bound notebooks, then scribbled on anything with white space in the margins. (..well, maybe not anything.  Books are still off limits to my scribbling.  Sticky notes, church bulletins, scrap paper, and Jo-Ann’s ads are not.)  After sorting my old college notes, I was amused to find all the random story ideas crammed into the margins of Apologetics notes or sandwiched between outlines on Homer.  And despite my propensity to write on anything at any time, I have failed to create a long-lasting routine.

For a few months, I will write in the mornings on my warm brown couch, flanked by green walls.  After getting discouraged in some project, I’ll relocate.  My windowless desk at work or the grey couch in our living room alternate as functional writing spaces.  And while I search for a consistent writing space, I have discovered a quirk in my writing process.

Composition notebooks scare me.

I’m serious.  I thought, “They’re cool.  They’re retro.”  When I found a 100% post-consumer/recycled composition notebook for cheap, I felt very eco-friendly buying it.  When I filled up a steady, spiral-bound notebook and needed more space for a story, I pulled out a composition notebook.  Now, I’m dying to go back to a spiral-bound notebook.  Composition notebooks cramp my furious scribbling style.  The wide-ruled pages give me shivers and, when open, the notebooks require so much desk-space.  And the spine is stiff.

Surely there are eco-friendly spiral-bound notebooks somewhere.  And I’ll find them…once I’m done with my awkward, wide-ruled composition book.

Leave a Reply

