On the Reels of a Dream

Everyone has dreams of accomplishing something that he or she has always wanted to do.  Some people love discussing their dreams.  Some prefer to keep it private and personal.

I discuss my dream sometimes, but few people take me seriously.

I want to make a short film.

Crazy dream for a recent college grad with a part-time job.  And despite indications otherwise, I really do try to be practical.  I have no money to make a short film.  No finished script.  No actors.  No sets.  And no extra time to get off work and no money to get any of it done.

But I know a few local actors who are pretty spectacular.  I have a standard video camera, a trunk full of props, a small collection of costumes, 2 boxes of patterns, several story ideas, a partial storyboard, and a big imagination.

Stories have always excited me.  There are few things that can engage me more than a well-told story.  For over 10 years, I’ve wanted to be a storyteller.  But telling stories is a challenge.  It takes good ole’ hard work to make stories and tell them well.  Then, there’s the worry that no one will like the story/book/poem/film.  More than that, though, there’s the worry that you will waste your audience’s time.  You see, no one has to read your story (unless it’s classwork).  No one has to read this blog.  An audience chooses what to read and what to watch.  You, as a storyteller, are invited to tell your story.  That, my friends, is a privilege.  And while that thought makes the task more difficult (after all, who wants to waste their audience’s time), sometimes you just try your best and keep moving forward, learning from your struggles and failures.  And keep dreaming.

Every once in a while, I run across something that reminds me of my dream.  Last month, it was this beautiful Kodascope projector, complete with case and reel.

???????????????????????????????

I don’t know if I’ll ever actually make a short film.  But hey, I can dream, can’t I?

Leave a Reply

