Feeling Accomplished

Sometimes it is the little things in life that make us happy, like reading a new book and writing a new poem.  Tonight, I finished reading Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury.  As an early novel by one of America’s great novelists, it’s a must for all beginning writers.  It’s especially interesting to compare it to Orwell’s 1984 or to contemporary dystopias like Lois Lowry’s The Giver.  No one has his style, genius, or emotional ferocity.  Period.

Second, I have finally written an entire sonnet.  Impressive?  Not so much.  But sonnets and I aren’t traditional allies.  I’m more of a sestina/free verse kind of girl.  Sonnets blow my mind.  I gave up on sonnets a long time ago–some time in the 9th grade, I think.  But I completed a pair of Shakespearean sonnets on a poetic project I call The Rest is Silence.  It’s sort of a contemplation on various lines from Hamlet.  I wrote the poem first in free verse.  And now I’ve written it in the form of two Shakespearean sonnets.  It’s not good yet.  But the experience was great and I recommend it to all poets who have a particular form they dislike.  Never wrote a ghazal?  Sit down and write it.  Stuck in a particular poem?  Make yourself write it in a different form.  Make your sestina a villanelle.  Transform your heroic couplets into free verse.  So you don’t have to send it out for publication.  But shaping your material in a different way will help you to further develop your ideas and to choose the best way to communicate your message. 

That’s all for tonight, readers and fellow poets.  Keep calm and Sonnet on.

Specs

Leave a Reply

