Boldly Go

It has become apparent to me over the past few months that God does not call us to live safe lives.

In America, most of us have the great blessing of feeling safe, physically and emotionally. American culture makes us feel comfortable. We are familiar with its inner workings, our place in it. But God does not call us to be comfortable–not to say that physical comforts are evil, but that is not the end goal of a Christian’s life.

In the book of I Kings, Elijah, God’s prophet, has been in hiding for 3 years because he has brought the message of drought and judgment to Israel and King Ahab is not happy. At the end of three years, God tells Elijah: “Go, show yourself to Ahab, and I will send rain upon the earth” (I Kings 18:1)*. This is not a safe or comfortable thing. Elijah had to face his mortal enemy before God brought back the rain. God didn’t tell him what exactly would go down between the two of them yet. But Elijah obeys anyways. Obadiah, God’s inside man at the palace, understands the danger of this decision when Elijah instructs him to let the king know he is there: “As the LORD your God lives, there is no nation or kingdom where my lord has not sent to seek you….And as soon as I have gone from you, the Spirit of the LORD will carry you I know now where. And so, when I come and tell Ahab and he cannot find you, he will kill me, although I your servant have feared the LORD from my youth” (I Kings 18:10, 12)*. Bold obedience has consequences and we don’t always get to know the consequences ahead of time. But God is not only greater than our fears, He is also greater than the possible dangers. He doesn’t tell us, “Do what I say and everything will be okay.” He says, “Do what I say because I am with you.”

It has been said that well-behaved women rarely make history. When it comes to living boldly, it couldn’t be more true. It takes courage to live as a Christian and that will at times call us to do things outside of our comfort zone, outside of where we feel safe. Women (and men) who live for comfort will never risk and never gain. I should know–I’ve spent most of my life scared of something. But fear is the enemy of love and I cannot love people the way God calls me to when I am fearing for myself. God has not given us the spirit of fear. So let’s not live that way. It’s time to live our lives with the power, love, and sound mind God has granted to us.

Live life for real and be bold,
Specs

*All Scripture references are taken from the English Standard Version of the Bible, Copyright 2007.

Leave a Reply

