A Christmas Wish

As the year draws to a close, I’m once again drawn to thoughts of what is truly important in this beautiful, brief life we’re given.  The world events of the last year have shown us all, regardless of what anyone may be tempted to believe, the world is a dark and messed-up place.  On a personal level, I’ve seen friends who have had their hearts broken, their bodies racked with disease, their dreams dashed.  Sometimes–oftentimes–things make very little sense.

But I have hope.  Hope that the God who made the heavens and the earth will one day return and judge it, as He promised.  I know He will keep that promise.  He has already freed this captive from the burden of a condemned heart, as He promised that He would do–set the captives free.  He is the only worth living for.  He is Immanuel–God with us.  That is what gives me hope–that in the midst of the broken awfulness of the world, God is with me.  God did not just send an emissary and say, “Go fix that mess down there.”  He came Himself as a man, fellowshipped with people, got hungry and thirsty.  He conquered death so we can too.  Christmas is the ultimate expression of God’s love–that God would become part of a lonely, poor family in the midst of political and social upheaval to the misunderstanding of those around them, to the scorn of their countrymen, to the hatred of the religious leaders when Jesus became a man.  Jesus did not live a problem-free life.  Nor does God does promise to fix our lives.  He promises to be with us through life and let those who come to Him stay with Him forever.  He promises His presence.

And that, my friends and readers, is a powerful promise.

On that note, I will say happy holidays and goodbye to you all.  To say I have enjoyed writing this blog would be untrue.  Minus the funny posts, most blogging came out of a deep struggle to share my faith and address the brokenness of the world.  To say I have enjoyed writing for you, however, is definitely true.  You are the reason I have continued.  I am a much different person than I was when I started this blog.  My writing has taken a different turn over the past several years and my thoughts are often too long for a blog post.  Thank you for sticking with me.  Thank you for reading.  I pray that you will find peace this holiday season with the One who calms storms, the LORD your Maker.

Merry Christmas.

 

All my love,
Specs

“I will make my dwelling among them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. Therefore go out from their midst, and be separate from them, says the Lord, and touch no unclean thing; then I will welcome you, and I will be a father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to me, says the Lord Almighty.”–II Corinthians 6:16b-18 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

